

## Central Tablelands Water Media Release

## Newly elected Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson

At their meeting held in Blayney on 21 February 2024, the members of Central Tablelands Water County Council elected unopposed Cr Andrew Rawson representing Cabonne Council as Chairperson, and Cr Michelle Cook representing Weddin Shire Council as Deputy Chairperson.

Cr David Somervaille who has held the role of Chairperson for the past 10 years did not seek re-election to the position.

Cr Rawson who has held the position of Deputy Chairperson for the past two years said, "I am honoured and humbled to be elected to the position of Chair of Central Tablelands Water (CTW). I would also like to congratulate Cr Cook for being elected as Deputy Chair and I look forward to working with her."

Cr Rawson and the rest of Council acknowledged and thanked outgoing Chair, Cr Somervaille for his 10 years of service at the helm of CTW.

During this time, Cr Somervaille was instrumental in driving significant improvements in CTW's infrastructure and operations, including major projects such as the new 12 megalitre reservoir at the Carcoar Water Treatment Plant; and bi-directional potable pipelines between CTW and Orange City Council, and CTW and Cowra Council water supply systems; as well as regional advocacy for town water security with respective State and Federal Ministers.

"The Belubula Water Security Project (BWSP), including the proposed Lake Rowlands augmentation and pipeline to Carcoar Dam, is a current priority project that stemmed from Cr Somervaille's vision and support over many years," Cr Rawson said.

Cr Rawson further stated that, "water security and environmental protection are my strategic priorities for the coming term, and I would like to see progress in the BWSP, development of a climate change adaptation plan as well as improved knowledge around our catchment management and environmental flows obligations. These will help ensure that CTW continues to provide high quality and sustainable potable water supplies to our region during times of climatic volatility."

Cr Cook said, "I am honoured to have the support of my fellow councillors to be elected Deputy Chair of CTW. I would like to acknowledge and congratulate the General Manager, Directors, staff and contractors, on the successful completion of the recent capital projects, such as the 12ML reservoir and Woodstock pump station. I am also looking forward to the progression and completion of the final business case for the BWSP, including the augmentation of Lake Rowlands." "The General Manager also advised me, that I am the first female councillor appointed to the Deputy Chairperson role at CTW, so again I can only say how grateful I am for the opportunity to represent CTW," Cr Cook said.



Pictured outside the Darrell Sligar Centre, Blayney, from L/R is Cr Andrew Rawson, Chairperson and Cr Michelle Cook, Deputy Chairperson of Central Tablelands Water County Council.

Cr Rawson and Cr Cook will hold the positions of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson until the NSW Local Government elections take place on 14 September 2024.

CTW is a water supply authority constituted under NSW Local Government legislation. First proclaimed in 1944 the county embraces the Shires of Blayney, Cabonne and Weddin providing drinking water to these communities. CTW currently has approximately 6,000 water connections and provides potable water to 15,000 consumers in 14 towns and villages.